Patsy Mink is my new hero.

 

“What you endure is who you are. And if you just accept and do nothing, then life goes on. But if you.. see it as a.. a way for change, life doesn’t have to be this unfair. It can be better… maybe not for me, I can’t change the past. But I can certainly help somebody else in the future, so they don’t have to go through what I did. “

 

wow. I am really amazed, and really glad I got to flip to this on the PBS channel. You hardly ever see an Asian woman try to tackle any of these issues, let alone be such a strong voice in the government. She was the leading advocate for Title IX in Congress, trying to give women an equal voice to men when there was none… and she strongly fought for justice for the poor and children. To hear about someone my own color and gender to have the power to change so many things is really special and influential to me.

Leave a Reply

