SBC – last days to apply for Winter trip!

picture-7

http://www.servebeyondcincinnati.org

SBC really has changed a part of who I am. I just filled out the application for a winter trip this year, because hopefully I can really go this time. Here was one of the questions– Please describe an experience you have had that has significantly impacted everyday.

“Not until SBC could I really answer this question seriously. My trip to Guatemala really has changed the way I look at my life now and in the future. Just seeing that millions of people don’t have access to basic needs like food, water, and an education has made me realize that there are still a lot of problems that need to be fixed. Since my trip, I have re thought about what I can do to help. As a student, I have taken an elective on poverty in America, and have embraced volunteering as more than just “something to get hours.” Fortunately, I have realized that as a product designer, there is a possibility to help people. I have realized that the social problems (like those in Guatemala) can be approached with a design perspective. Luckily there is a growing community within design that is interested in designing with a purpose for good and for people. Since my experience in Guatemala, I have committed myself to drown myself in the world of “humanitarian design.” Between reading books, reading blogs about something like the next portable water filter, co-founding a group within DAAP to get together other designers for the same cause, and starting my own “design for good” blog there are many new things in my life that I have started because of my experience in Guatemala. “
I really think this organization is just crazy amazing! A) Students run it. I’m sure you all know how hard it is to get a group of people together. Can you imagine managing 30 people every other quarter to safely go to another country? B)Every year they have a new board. This group truly is open to new thoughts and ideas of anyone. Anyone can run, anyone can make the organization the way they want it to be. c) did i mention it’s all 100% student-run? This still just blows my mind. I can’t believe 4 or 5 people can dedicate soo so soo much time to foster/inspire other people to have an amazing experience.
Whomever is reading this, hopefully you are a UC student and may be able to sign up. Please do! fundraising really isn’t that hard. 
-that’s word from East Aurora for now,
-M
Comments
One Response to “SBC – last days to apply for Winter trip!”
  1. Hi, good post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for posting. I will definitely be subscribing to your blog.

Leave a Reply

